Myspace

You know what I miss? Instant messaging. Yes, I know we live in a world of nonstop texting and snapchatting… but there was something fun about MSN messenger or AIM. Maybe I am dating myself here… but that was how I used to stay connected. I am guilty of being too attached to my phone, just like everyone, but I miss signing in to whatever messaging server and chatting with friends. Sometimes I want to disconnect my phone. Just turn it off and put it in a drawer and see if anyone really notices. I grew up without a cell phone. Without facebook and instagram and twitter. Yet, here I am now… a total slave to social media. Now on one level, I know that no one cares what I am feeling or having for lunch.. yet that doesn’t stop me from tweeting “500% done with today” or posting a picture of my sandwich on insta. No one cares. I have never been a big phone talker, and I am still not to this day. If you call me chances are I won’t answer OR I will answer and be off the call within 10 minutes. But by God if you text me, I reply almost instantly. Wow do my priorities suck. I miss writing letters to friends… you know, passing notes? That was fun. Finding new ways to fold the paper and coming up with secret codes. I want to untangle myself from the Internet and social media. I want to be an active person. I want to have actual face to face conversations. I don’t want to text or like someone’s post on facebook. Don’t get me wrong, social media does a lot of good… it keeps us connected easily with friends and family who are far away. I can log in to facebook and see how my family in England is doing. I can jump on twitter and see how wedding planning is going for my friend in Wisconsin. I can browse insta to see how my bestie is doing in film school. I can read another friends newest blog entry about her adventure of moving to the East Coast for a Summer internship. And all of those are amazing reasons to stay connected. But I could also call said people. I could do a lot of things. The moral of the story is I want to unplug sometimes… but I am always afraid I will miss something. Which is super lame considering I am an adult. But whatever. We live in a world where it is easier to like or comment a status than to call someone. I want to go back to basics. I want to have a pen pan I write actual letters and use actual stamps. I want to go to lunch and not once grab my phone. I want to fall asleep without the glow of my phone in my face. I want to enjoy a day outside playing with my dog without having to stop and take a million pictures that no one other than I want to see. I am going to take time away from my iPhone. Sure, it is cool having the world at my fingertips… but sometimes the journey is more fun. Trial and error. I am going to put down my Kindle and go to a bookstore. Turn off my phone and go outside. Stop posting 47 pictures that people like out of habit. I want to connect with people and with life for real and not via a screen. I know it won’t be easy but it is possible… I did it for 16 years. We shall see how this goes. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

